Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Pink Floyd - 1972-02-20 - In Celebration Of The Comet (The Coming Of Kohoutek)



Dr. Forrester said...

Pink Floyd – 1972.02.20 - In Celebration Of The Comet (The Coming Of Kohoutek) - LP Vinyl Transfer

Venue: Rainbow Theatre – London, UK

Many listings state the date of this performance was 1972.02.17, when reportedly the actual date was 1972.02.20.

Lineage: Audience (details unknown) > Original Vinyl (TAKRL 1903) > NAD 5120 turntable + Nagaoka MP-11 Cartridge > SP-2 Stereo Phono Preamplifier > CD Spin Doctor > aiff > flac level 6 > you. Sound quality is B+ or better.

This is a popular and widely circulated bootleg album from Pink Floyd. The performance featured a musical piece referred to at the time as "The Eclipse Suite," which would later become "Dark Side of the Moon."

Note the song titles: “The Travel Sequence,” “The Mortality Sequence,” and “The Scat Sequence,” which later evolved into “On The Run,” “The Great Gig In The Sky,” and “Any Colour You Like.”

I purchased this album in the 1970’s & with little wear it has maintained its luster, although some snap, crackle & pop exist. I did no post-transfer treatments. The center hole of the vinyl is a tad bit off center, which may add a bit of wobble.

I have provided 2 versions of this vinyl transfer. One option is Sides 1 & 2 without track other breaks. Another option is 10 individual track breaks. Scan composite of the cover is included also. Enjoy.

Side One (20:33)
01. Breathe
02. The Travel Sequence
03. Time
04. The Mortality Sequence

Side Two (20:45)
05. The Mortality Sequence (ends)
06. Money
07. Us & Them
08. The Scat Sequence
09. Brain Damage
10. Eclipse

Anonymous said...

one of my first bootleg LPS i got in the early 8o's.